Posted on October 25, 2010
Island Profile: A History Of The Comox Valley In Photos
A week ago, with the bright sun shining down on us, it was hard to believe that it was October. Seven days makes all the difference because a quick peek out the window erases any doubt that Fall has indeed arrived.
While most of us would prefer to stay at home on blustery days, there are a number of indoor activities to activate the mind. The Courtenay & District Museum, Archives & Palaeontology Centre provides a unique and interactive experience that allows visitors to get in touch with the roots of this unique community. While the hands-on museum features everything from fossils to photos, I’ve taken the opportunity to highlight some of the Comox Valley’s historical snapshots from the museum’s archives that truly are worth 1,000 words.
- Native Sons Hall, Courtenay, circa 1928
- P.J. Doheny General Store, Denman Island, circa 1915
- Post Office displaying earthquake damage, Courtenay, circa 1946
- May Day Parade, Courtenay, circa 1923
- St. Joseph’s Hospital, Comox, circa 1920s
- Westward view, Forbidden Plateau, circa 1947
- Comox Creamery Association, Courtenay, circa 1927
- Picnic, Little River, circa 1912
- Creech’s Livery Stable, Courtenay, circa 1905
- View of 5th Street between Cliffe Avenue and Duncan Avenue, Courtenay, circa 1910
- Townsite view from wharf, Comox, circa 1905
- Dominion Day Parade, Courtenay, circa 1940s
- Corfield Motors, Courtenay, circa 1920s
- St. Andrew’s Anglican Church, Courtenay, circa 1920s. This church still exists today, marking the beginning of Mission Hill leaving Courtenay.
- Post Office, Comox, circa 1918
- Island Highway Bridge, Black Creek, circa 1918
- E. W. Theatre, 5th Street, Courtenay, circa 1945. This art deco gem, which later became known as the Palace Theatre, was destroyed by fire on July 4, 2007.
All photos featured in today’s Island Profile are © the Courtenay & District Museum, Archives & Palaeontology Centre. More photos from the gallery archive can be viewed online. Those wishing to visit the museum will find it at 207 Fourth Street in Courtenay, housed in the former post office. Admission is by donation.
Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /nfs/c03/h03/mnt/53147/domains/keira-anne.com/html/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 399